Salt Dough Foot Print Ornaments

{Written by: Jen}

20121026-093319.jpg

I wanted to make a footprint project with my girls for Halloween. Rather than just do a painted print of their feet I decided to use salt dough so that I can enjoy them year after year.

2 C. Flour

1/2 C. Salt

3/4 C. Water

I mixed together the flour, salt and water and played with the dough for about 15 minutes, my toddler loved playing with the extra too. I divided the dough into two on a parchment lined cookie sheet and flattened with a soup can, don’t judge, for some reason I do not own a rolling pin (the thicker you make them the longer they will need to bake and you may risk cracking). I pressed my daughters’ feet into each one. I cut the excess of dough off with a plastic knife and used the end of a wooden skewer to create a hole for hanging.

20121026-093237.jpg

Bake at 300 for 25 minutes. Be sure to keep your eye on it as you bake, so that they do not burn. Another little tip, get a deep imprint in the dough before you bake because it will rise slightly as it bakes.

I let mine cool for a few days, mostly because I was just doing this each night around dinner time. Once they felt nice and hardened I used some simple white craft paint and painted the entire ornament. I drew an outline and a face on the ghosts with a sharpie marker and added some pretty ribbon to hang them.

I love how they turned out. I can not get enough of little hand prints and foot prints, my kids will only be this small once and I want to remember it forever.

Do you have any favorite hand print/foot print projects from your kids?

{Jen}

Your two cents....

