The Phantom Tollbooth

{Written by: Susi}

I was rearranging, I do this frequently – doesn’t everybody? Anyway I moved this ceramic dog and was trying to decide if I liked where he was or what else he needed and thought, I’ll hang something around his neck, that’ll change him up a bit. So I put this pocket barometer on a ribbon and hung it around his neck. Instantly it reminded me of a favorite childhood book “The Phantom Tollbooth” by Norton Juster/ illustrations by Jules Feiffer. It’s the story of a bored, little boy named Milo (we had a beloved family dog named for this character when the kids were little – boy do we miss that dog) and his adventures into The Land of Expectations. The boy had a companion dog  named “Tock” – the watchdog of time. Well I just can’t say enough wonderful things about this book, I shared it with my children and have saved a copy to read with my granddaughters. It will always be with me. 
 
Look at the pictures, see the similarities? Have you read this book? Did you love it?

{Susi}

Your two cents....

