Steak Marinade

{Written by: Jen}

I stumbled across this recipe* recently for “best steak marinade EVER.” I had a london broil steak asking to be grilled and thought, hey, I’ve got all these ingredients on hand, why not?

  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 1/2 tbsp garlic powder
  • 3 tbsp dried basil
  • 1 1/2 tbsp dried parsley flakes
  • 1 tsp ground pepper
  • 1 tsp minced garlic

I gathered all of the ingredients and began to mix together. My first impression was that while it smelled great, it was quite a large quantity of spices and sauces, and not exactly budget friendly, so I was ultimately leaving this up to taste to decide if the recipe was a keeper.

I marinated it in the fridge for about 4 hours flipping it every hour or two, then layed it on a plate on the counter for 20 minutes prior to grilling to allow it to come to room temperature (this allows better grilling results, or so I’ve read anyway). Then onto a 400 degree grill for about 10 minutes on the first side which gave it a nice crust, and 7 minutes on the other side to finish cooking.

The verdict? Quite delicious. Okay, pretty spectacular. Maybe not something I will do frequently because of the large quantity of marinade, but definitely  a recipe to pull out every now and again. I served it with baked potatoes, which I threw on the grill after they were done cooking to give them a nice charred, crispy taste, and steamed zucchini squash.

*I apologize but I could not find the exact link to the recipe, only the link to the Pinterest pin. I like to give credit where credit is due and wish I could for this recipe as well. If you can tell me the original source, please do so that I can properly acknowledge it.

{Jen}

Your two cents....

